The Trash section in Google Drive is the almost forgettable section as, Drive allows users to ‘remove’ the file. But it actually just traverses to the ‘Trash’ and stays there until you visit the section and personally delete it. But Google is about to change that. According to a recent blog by the company, now Drive will automatically delete any file that has been in the Trash for more than 30 days.
Earlier, trash files were saved forever unless you went to the Bin folder and deleted them permanently.With this new policy, any file that is put into a Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. Previously, trashed items would be retained indefinitely until the trash was emptied by the user.
According to a recent blog by the company, Any files already in a user’s trash on October 13, 2020 will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day period, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted.
This change matches the policies of other G Suite products and services, such as Gmail. This will help ensure behavior is consistent and predictable for users across G Suite products, and will help make sure that items users trash are actually deleted as expected.
- Admins can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users.
- Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault are not affected by this change, unless they become obsolete as they are now redundant. Learn more about retention rules for Drive.
- These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform.
- Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. There is no impact to Backup and Sync behavior.
- Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- Items in trash will still continue to consume quota.
- Admins: There is no end user setting for this feature. Visit our Help Center to see how admins can restore a user’s Drive data.
- End users: There is no end user setting for this feature. Visit the Help Center to learn more about how to delete and restore files in Google Drive.