Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Poonam Yadav were among four Indian cricketers who were named in the ICC Women’s teams of the decade, announced by the world cricket’s governing body on Sunday. Mithali Raj, along with veteran Jhulan Goswami was included in the ODI team of the decade, while Poonam Yadav and skipper Harmanpreet Kaur found their places in the T20 Team of the Decade.


Australian batswoman Meg Lanning has been named the skipper of both the T20 and the ODI squads of the decade. While Mithali has accounted for 6888 runs in 209 ODIs, Jhulan has 182 ODI wickets to her name. Harmanpreet 2,186 T20I runs in 114 T20 games and Poonam has 95 wickets in 67 T20Is.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin are the two Indians who feature in the Test team of the decade, with Kohli named as the skipper of the Test side. Meanwhile, the ODI and T20I sides are led by MS Dhoni.

With 6888 runs, Mithali Raj is the highest run-getter in ODIs amongst women players. Skipper Meg Lanning follows in the line-up as she has been a quality player for the best part of the decade. Captain of the West Indian team, Stefanie Taylor comes at number five with retired cricketer Sarah Taylor to arrive in next.

Mithali Raj is currently the world’s 10th best batswoman in the ICC cricket rankings, while Jhulan Goswami is ranked fifth among the bowlers.

Jhulan has scalped 225 wickets from 182 ODIs, while Mithali who retired from T20Is to focus on the 50-over format last year, has aggregated 6888 runs from 209 ODIs.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Decade: Meg Lanning (Captain), Alyssa Healy, Suzie Bates, Mithali Raj, Stafanie Taylor, Sarah Taylor, Ellyse Perry, Dane Van Niekerk, Marizanne Kapp, Jhulan Goswami, and Anisha Mohammed.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Decade: Meg Lanning (Captain),  Alyssa Healy, Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Harmanpreet Kaur, Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin, Ellyse Perry, Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt, Poonam Yadav.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here