Assam Cabinet Key Decisions were taken in the Cabinet meeting chaired by Assam chief minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma held on Wednesday in Dispur.

The Assam Cabinet meeting held on Wednesday decided to appoint Devajit Lon Saikia as the Advocate General of Assam.

Assam Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma informed it in a Tweet stating, “The Cabinet decided to appoint Sri Debojit Saikia as the new Advocate General of Assam.”


Here are the details of Assam Cabinet Key Decisions:

The Cabinet decided to appoint Sri Debojit Saikia as the new Advocate General of Assam. 

To avert the Oxygen crisis in Assam, the following decisions were taken in Cabinet:

If any new Oxygen plant is set up, State Govt would provide 100% free power supply.

For reviving closed Oxygen plants, 100% free power would be provided.

In case of expansion of the existing plant, the new unit would be given free power.

All existing Oxygen plants would be given 20% free power.

All these decisions would come into effect from January 1, 2021 but financial implications would be from April 1, 2021. 


Other Decisions:

CEM BTR, CEM Karbi Anglong & CEM Dima Hasao will be accorded Cabinet Status.

The nomenclature of I/C minister would be changed to Guardian Minister who would take responsibility of their respective districts.

Also Read:Lachit Borphukan-The Assamese Graphic Novel You Must Not Miss

Meanwhile,days after taking oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam, Himanta Biswa Sarma allocated portfolios to his 13 cabinet colleagues. Sarma has kept Home, Personnel, PWD departments himself.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Assam unit president Ranjeet Kumar Dass has given the responsibility of Panchayat and Rural Development, Public Health Engineering, Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs ministries.

The ruling BJP alliance is the first non-Congress government in the state to win the elections for the second consecutive term.

Of the 126 assembly seats in Assam, the ruling alliance has secured 75 seats with BJP winning 60 while the AGP got nine seats and the UPPL six.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here