The Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday announced Union Minister of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Minister of Rural Development, and Minister of Food Processing Industries Narendra Singh Tomar as the state election in-charge of Assam.

BJP president JP Nadda appointed the party’s election in-charge and co-in-charges of the poll-bound states of Assam, Puducherry, Kerala, and Tamil Nadu.

For Kerala, Nadda appointed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi along with Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister Dr. Ashwath Narayan.

For Assam, Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and Minister of State for PMO Dr. Jitendra Singh, for Tamil Nadu Minister of State for Home G. Kishen Reddy and General V.K. Singh, and for Puducherry, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Arjun Ram Meghwal and Rajya Sabha MP Rajeev Chandrashekhar have been appointed.

Assam is slated to go polls around mid-April. The ruling party Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has set a target of winning 100 plus seats in the 126 member house.

While, Union Minister of Development of North Eastern Region and Minister of State for Prime Minister’s Office; Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space Dr. Jitendra Singh has been appointed as the co in-charge.

In Assam, BJP had swept the state polls in 2016 winning 86 seats in the 126-member Assembly while Congress could win from only 26 constituencies. And now they are going to contest the Assam Assembly polls scheduled for March or April in an alliance with the AGP and the UPPL. It has set an ambitious target of 100+ seats in the 126-member Assembly.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here